Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2003-05-13 - 7:50 a.m.

Mixed-up mix tape.

Slate Magazine had an article the other day about celebrity mix tapes. It seems that some company asked various musicians what songs they would choose for a mix tape, then put out a series of cds based on their answers, complete with liner notes by the musicians describing why those songs were important to them.

Sort of like John Cusak in "High Fidelity" (a reference they make), but apparently a lot less interesting. According to the critic, the songs are mildly pleasant at best, blandly mainstream at worst, and generally not worth the money for the cd, since there are no insights to be gained by listening to the favourite songs of such artists as Mick Jagger and Sheryl Crow. I think the greatest disappointment for the critic was that there was nothing unexpected in the mix - it was all the usual "back to my roots" stuff.

It's a pity really - what a great opportunity to introduce people to obscure or weird influences on their life. At the very least, wouldn't they want to show off their more eclectic knowledge or use the songs to describe the kind of person they think they are, even if the songs they pick aren't their absolute favourites?

I hate the idea that these people have no imagination.

Okay, except for Sheryl Crow. Finding out that she seems to have no imagination is not much of a surprise.

So. If you were to make a mix tape to describe your influences, the kind of person you are, the kind of person you want to be, or even just songs that speak to you about your life, what songs would you choose? Not just songs you like, but songs that are important to you. Say... 7 songs, which makes for a rather short compilation cd, but we'll sell it at a discount. Just 7 songs forces you to really think about who you'd pick - an unlimited number is too easy, and one song is never enough, since we're all multifacteted people here.

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Here's my list, and why:

1. Blue Avenue - Elton John. This song never makes it onto his compilation cds, but it's a great song about love gone wrong for no real reason except that the people weren't meant to be together. It's also a really great song to harmonize to. I used to play it a lot when I thought Bob and I couldn't be together anymore (a very rough six months of my life) at the same time knowing that my first marriage was ending. It summed up all the frustration and loneliness I felt at the time.

2. Promise - When in Rome. They still play this on the radio every now and then. It's the essence of everything I love about '80s dance songs, and it lifts me up whenever I hear it. It's also the most wonderful declaration of love, and if Bob and I ever renew our vows, it's the song I'm going to pick for our dance.

3. Moments of Pleasure - Kate Bush. Okay, I'm a sad song afficionado. This song is about old friends and happy days, about loss and love, and laughter. I want my memories of my life to feel like this song. When this song plays, I remember the people I loved who are gone at their best - laughing, happy, beautiful. It's a fitting elegy for times past.

4. Turkey in the House - The Damned. This song sums up the importance of not taking yourself too seriously. On an album filled with hard loud angry (but humourous) music, this stupid little song comes on, and you start laughing. I like this - I'd rather lighten a serious moment than try to impress people with my "seriousness". Laughter is deep, laughter is profound - serious is just boring.

5. Friday I'm in Love - The Cure. The importance of prioritizing for the weekend can never be overrated.

6. Brothers in Arms - Dire Straits. I love songs that aren't just about love - songs about tragedy and loss speak to me in ways I can't quite explain. Perhaps it's because I was raised on stories of heriosm and sacrifice, perhaps because I'm a passionate little thing, I don't know.

7. All Quiet on the Western Front - Elton John. Perhaps one of the most melancholy and strangest songs that John and Taupin wrote, it's ineffably sad. It's hard to explain to Americans how much the shadow of both World Wars hangs over Britain - I tried to explain it a couple of years ago in my War Poetry diary entry - and this song speaks to the tiny part of that shadow in me.

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

I don't know - would *you* buy that album?

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen