Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2003-07-14 - 9:38 a.m.

No sleep and not enough coffee makes Isobel a boring writer...

I have a headache, burning eyes, and a runny nose. I would think I was getting sick if not for the fact that I didn't sleep at all last night.

I think I took my last painkiller too close to bedtime. Whereas narcotics make most people sleepy, they make me lie awake all night staring at the clock.

Not fun.

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

When I'm more myself, I intend to write about words, and the effect they have on our communications with each other (their *effect* on our *affect*, as it were). But right now, with my poor numbed brain, that last sentence is about as clever as I can get. You'll have to wait for that one.

Instead, let me tell you about my cool painted pavilion. It's not quite finished, but it's very Elizabethan. I can't wait to see it up at Pennsic (where it will be spending two weeks, but we will be spending only one. Our pavilion gets more vacation time than we do). I'm excited. I've been meaning to paint it for more than two years, but kept putting it off. Well, not any more. I'm stylin'.

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

My legs are a mass of bug bites and scratches (attractive thought, non?), but I have two large bowls of blackberries, which when coupled with a few small green apples, will make very splendid blackberry and apple jam (natch). You can't really taste the apples much in the final product, but they add pectin (which berries sorely lack), and stop the jam from being too syrupy. I think I have enough for about six small jars. Yum!

However, they need to live in the freezer for a bit, because I am too busy to make jam. I will do them later, when I make jam out of the sour cherries from the tree in the yard, assuming it doesn't completely self-destruct before the cherries ripen (tornado + old tree = bad). But I hope to get a few cherries off it this year. Everything's been slow to ripen.

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

We went and saw "League" on Sunday, mostly because we figured it would disappear faster than "Pirates". I liked it; though how Nemo's giant submarine fit underwater in the Thames is quite beyond me - even at high tide it's pretty shallow, and the only deep channel runs up the middle, so being underwater at dockside means that you would have to be more... manta-ray shaped than the "Nautilus".

The CGI was a bit disappointing, too - I found myself thinking that a good matte painter would have done a better job. Still, Mina kicks ass, even if she seems to have *absolutely no* problem with sunlight... oh, never mind. Dorian Grey wasn't forbidden to look at his picture, either - he just didn't want to - but whatever works to advance the plot.

And Bob does a really good Sean Connery impression, so he keeps making me giggle every time we talk about the movie. I'm stubborn - I liked the idea, even if the execution left a little something to be desired, and I can picture myself as Mina, so it clicked for me.

...And I particularly like the Morse code message that begins "Hello, my freaky darlings..."

Now *that's* panache.

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen