Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2004-11-29 - 9:13 a.m.

Wave not those kidneys near my face...

You guys remember what I said about the organ meats? Well, at about 2pm on Thursday, one of the fort staff walks up to me with two kidneys in his hand, and said "They said you might want to do something with these".

My reputation, she is forever tainted. I am known as "the person who will not only handle organ meats, she'll actually cook them".

Thanksgiving at Jamestown was really great fun. Never mind the arm pain (I swear, I didn't do that much!), it was a fun and edifying experience for all. In particular, I learned that if you fry a radish the size of a turnip in butter, it's actually quite edible.

But then, you could fry almost anything in butter and it would be edible. But the radish was surprisingly tasty. Don't forget the salt.

Nothing terribly exciting happened - we got some high winds, but nothing actually went airborne, not even the chickens.

(Though they did look pretty funny being blown along backwards.)

Speaking of chickens, the ones at Jamestown have really started recognizing me - whenever they see me, they come running and cluster around me hopefully, looking for handouts.

See? If chickens love me, I can't be all bad.

(Mind you, there is a photo floating around of me coaxing Henry the Rooster to come eat from my hand while I'm concealing a knife behind my back...)

We came home Friday evening - we had planned to stop off in Richmond for a friend's show opening, but I was wiped and not in the best physical shape, so home seemed like the best idea. The rest of the weekend was spent studiously avoiding all near occasions of housework. And drawing. And playing music.

We - the band Lost Cause - are performing on December 11th at a concert in Greenbelt (we're opening for another group), and on December 16th at 9am and 7pm in the Borders in Columbia. I have to make flyers for Borders, get some stuff sorted, and work out logistics with the manager, but if you're in the neighbourhood that evening, come by. It's free, and we don't suck.


Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen