Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2005-05-18 - 8:53 a.m.

Ten things about me

Okay, let's start this day over...

The painkillers (which I had to take half an hour early) are starting to kick in, and there's nothing like a synthetic class 2 opiate to make things seem a little nicer.

Hey, at least I'm up front about my drug use, right? I'll stop taking them when it stops feeling like the little gnomes are stabbing my arms with cocktail picks. Thbbbbpppt.

Like Rhi, I can't think up 43 things I'd like to do, but I do at least have a top ten:

1. Publish more costume articles. I really like doing this research, and I think there's a use for it. It's fun to see people doing things because of my research. Makes me feel useful.

2. Develop that knowledge into something that I can turn into a job of sorts. Can't say any more about it than that, though; I'm afraid I'll jinx it if I talk about it too much.
...plus, if I don't do it, I won't have to feel embarrased about it.

3. Finish and self-publish the coif patterns book. That's easy - I just need to write the whole thing. :P

4. Finish all my outstanding costume projects. The big thing might take a while, but I have a two-year doublet for Bob that I really *have* to get finished (otherwise, I'll have spent 100 hours on it for nothing), and knitgeek's coif is nearly finished (I might have it by Sapphire, but I'm not making any promises), and I have plans for a new lace-decorated shift, or at least an embroidered one...

5. Renew my passport. I really *do* need to get that done. Not terribly inspiring, but I do tend to procrastinate a bit, so I thought writing it here might impel me in the direction of the British Embassy.

6. Learn to play all my instruments more skilfully. I like and noodle around on mandolin, concertina, and tinwhistle, but I really would like to be more proficient on them. I'd like to learn violin, too, but that may have to wait until I'm out of the apartment, and the only creatures that have to suffer will be the vultures at the farm.

7. Grow my hair down to butt-length again. A silly goal perhaps, but I did like having really long hair. It grows fairly slowly, so I have to be careful with hair dye and not rip my brush through it so much. No more perms for me!

8. Get into teaching mode again. I used to teach at almost every University, but I sort of fell out of the habit. Between costume, illumination, and fighting classes, I really can teach at every one if I want to, and it may be time for the corset class again. I know the Clerk Signet wants more C&I classes, and I have this bitchin' cool class on head trauma assessment for marshals that I want to do.

9. Build our house. I want that house. I want to be in Virginia (at this second, very, very much).

10. Make it through this fire drill that just went off. Gotta go!

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen