Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2005-06-27 - 9:23 a.m.

Music and demi-monde

I am an evil autocratic bitch when we are recording our music. I would apologize, but I know I'll do it again, and again, and again. For as long as we're recording, I'll be a bitch.

You'll thank me when we mix those suckers.

*Ahem*. We (that would be the fantastic uber-cool all-singing, all-dancing, all-instrument-playing group that is Lost Cause) had our latest recording session on Sunday, and I think it went really well. We'll be getting together to do the mixing session later, but even the raw tracks sounded pretty good (though that could have been because we were completely fried after four hours of recording).

I likes me some recording, I does, even though I feel like I went ten rounds with George Foreman (one of the younger sons, that's why I'm still alive). It's a lot harder than performing - live performance is amazingly forgiving since small mistakes are rapidly forgotten, whereas on a recording, you get to hear them over and over and OVER again.

Bitchin', though. We got, I think, about 20 minutes of music (excellent for only four hours), and we'll go back to do the instrumental/vocal tracks in a month or so (uh, I'd better start practicing again). That should give us enough, with the recordings we did a while ago (free, so we've been on a rather relaxed timeline about getting the recordings), to actually put out a CD. There'll even be new stuff on it - some songs by me, some arrangements by Bob and me, and some weird stuff we all interpret in our own special way.

Heh.

Saturday we went to a Single Action Shooting Society event - just for the afternoon. It was fun; nothing required of us, a chance to chat with some friends, and a lot of compliments on our outfits (they normally dress up more for the evening "banquet" things - since we weren't going to that, we wore our stuff during the day, and anyway, my outfit is a day dress, I'd have to make something else for the evening...

(Bob sighed at this point, and shook his head at the futility of getting me to relax about the clothes. He's very tolerant.)

Anyway - it looks like fun, and I think we may try to go to another one soon. It *was* nice to wear a different period of clothes, and it was *really* nice to feel absolutely no obligation to do anything except sit and watch.

I need to get earplugs that match my outfit.

(Hear that sound? That's Bob sighing again.)

Anyway, my weekend. Boring for you to read about, but it was fun at the time.

Now to work out that album cover...

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen