Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2005-08-09 - 9:07 a.m.

Going bald

Ugh. Two and a half hours of sleep does not a happy camper make.

I don't know why it happens, but sometimes it does. I lie there, just thinking about random stuff, and next thing I know, it's 3am, and I have to get up in two hours.

The gluten-free diet may help with the insomnia, but it doesn't stop it entirely, and anyway, I haven't been that good this month - I had fajitas.

Hey, every now and then you need fajitas.

I need them, anyway.

We went to the mall last night so I could impulse buy prescription reading glasses. No, I don't need them for reading, but my 20/10 vision has softened over the years to where it's slightly easier to see the individual threads of whatever I'm sewing if I wear glasses.

I was wearing my old reading glasses (which I almost never use), but they've got this awful mid-90s *biiiiig* lens look to them, and I needed something I could look over, because sewing is impossible without TV or movies - at least, it is for me - and I was getting headaches trying to see the slightly blurry screen through the old glasses.

My prescription is so mild that I could get those cheapie "magnifying" reading glasses, but I wanted an exact prescription because you DON'T FUCK WITH YOUR EYES.

You know? Yup.

I also got a really lovely pair of shoes - ones I've been looking for for at least three years - black espadrilles with a heel, and those little lace-up straps. They're a little higher than I was looking for (these are not beach shoes), but they're made by Nine West, who are the best shoe makers in the entire freaking world, as far as I'm concerned.

Seriously. All my favourite pairs of shoes are Nine Wests (except for the exquisite Agnolini boots I found at the thrift store, but those are extra special). No matter how high the heel is, they're so well constructed that your feet don't ache (assuming you can wear heels in the first place), and they last forEVER.

Love 'em.

Of course, since we were at the mall, I had to go by the pet store, even though I can't stop myself from saying "people should get dogs from the Pound, not from pet stores".

I try not to say it too loud.

Anyway, I like to go there to look at the baby hedgehogs, but it's a bit like looking at Jimmy Choos - they're expensive, so it's mostly window shopping. This time I cast an eye on the hairless rats, which I love, but Bob isn't so sure about, and you know, they're pretty cheap.

Maybe I want a hairless rat. Not much in the way of dander, they're intelligent and fairly easy to socialize, and the stuff isn't too expensive (I can kit myself with a complete hairless rat setup for less than a hedgehog).

Mind you, I'm not buying anything that likes to chew on things until I'm done with the jacket, but a hairless rat would be kind of cool.

In a hairless kind of way.

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen