Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2005-08-16 - 10:02 a.m.

Jacket Project nipping at my nose...

It's all fun and games in the elsworthy household until someone actually realizes the monster they've created.

Then the tears start. (And the petting of the monster, because we really do create cute ones here.)

(Don't mind the growling - that just means he's happy.)

Why am I calling it a monster? Well, I worked out that even if I devote four hours a day to the darn thing, it won't be finished for another eight months, minimum. While this opens up some interesting avenues of speculation into Elizabethan clothing production, it means I *definitely* am not going to be wearing it for 12th Night. I already sort of knew that, but I had been holding out faint hope that it wouldn't take as long as it clearly is going to.

And that's not the only monster in the house - I've got one that's been feeling terribly neglected of late, but I hit a wall in the creative process, and I haven't worked out how to scale it yet.

You could say I'm lacking the rope to leash that particular beastie.

There's yet another, that's hit the "How do I write about this?" plateau; I'm four designs short of the original planning, and I'm using that as an excuse not to start writing. I'm really not writing because that monster is difficult and temperamental, and likes to hide behind the furniture.

Oh, wait, there are more - little tiny ones that nip at my heels and beg for attention because they're small and only need a short time to finish, but I can't pry myself away from the big monster and carve out a couple of hours for them.

Right now, they're *all* sulking because I'm at work, and can't be with them. They'll stare at me reproachfully as I come in the door, and then they'll all sigh sadly and creep back to their nests when I sit down on the sofa and start doing filling stitches again.

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen