Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2005-09-27 - 7:30 a.m.

Creationism - how it affects *YOU*.

Still working on stuff, but I hope to get it fixed soon. Nikulai - it's all cool. :)

NOTE TO ALL LIVEJOURNAL PEOPLE WHO HAVE A LINK TO MY RSS FEED: I am honoured that you like my ravings enough to want to read them, but you'll notice a "redirect" on your friends list when it comes to my diary. For copyright and control reasons, I really don't want to be "syndicated". I understand if this drives you away from reading, but it's necessary for my mental well-being. Thanks for your understanding.

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

I am currently in a happy little haze of creating stuff, which of course means that I *really* don't want to be at work, but I have the day off tomorrow to finish the root canal, so I'll get some things done then.

I like making things. The jacket, the doublet (which will be on display at Crusades with a new and firmer body double), a new skirt... and the latest project: Insect/groundhog hybrids I make using spare parts culled from the variety of wildlife down at the farm.

I'm *this close* to perfecting a groundhog with a striped butt and wings, I tell you.

I've always enjoyed making things - from my first clumsy reanimation attempts with a rat brain and my brother's old G.I. Joe (full-size 12" version, not those wimpy 4" figures), to the... thing I let loose in the woods this weekend, it's been a constant interest in my life.

(Don't go in the basement.)

As the Bush administration has become more strict about controlling experimentation with living matter, I've had to become more careful with the critters I spawn - fortunately, the Museum of Military Medicine on base here provides a perfect place to dump the less viable experiments.

No-one *ever* notices in the jars in the back of the display, anyway.

(Though if you look carefully, there's an interesting "nose" on one of the men in the "early plastic surgery" exhibit. Remember, you didn't hear it from me.)

It's been a slow learning curve, I do admit - I still have a couple of scars from the first experiment that crossed a hamster with a komodo dragon. I thought it was *adorable*, but it had really bad breath, and apparently, most people just don't think that scaly hamsters with jaws of death are that cute.

Bob keeps nagging me to create life forms with sales potential, but every time I cross a cat with a gerbil to try and make miniature cats, all I get is a very stupid kitten with a bald tail and an unnerving tendency to hop around on its hind legs.

I tried crossing cats with teacup poodles, but bad-tempered cats with a drool problem turned out to be a less than stellar sales phenomenon.

Obviously, we're a few years off from being able to breed cats that stay small enough to ride in your shirt pocket, but I haven't given up hope.

Some of the larger experiments have been more successful - at least, that's what I'm guessing from the crunchy noises in the woods. The local deer population has dropped a bit, too, so I presume they're getting enough to eat. Fortunately, the one time someone accidentally saw one from a distance, they thought it was a bear.

(That one must have been the buffalo/orangutan/pit bull mix. It developed dark brown curly hair and a tendency to walk on three of its five legs.)

I was worried about the safety of the baby vultures for a while, but it seems that they smell bad enough that even the more... unusual attempts won't touch them.

It's a good thing, too - the vultures dispose of the less successful breeds pretty quickly, so there are no awkward questions if someone comes (illegally) hunting across my land this season.

Mind you, if they ignore the "No Trespassing; Violators will be Eaten" signs, they really can't complain, though almost all of the livelier species are mostly harmless, even if they are ugly.

Mostly harmless. Unless you're wearing orange - they don't like that colour for some reason.

*sings* If you go into the woods today, you're sure of a big surprise...

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen