Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2006-02-16 - 8:58 a.m.

Just left hanging around...

If "Lost" was a book, I'd have thrown it down and stomped on it by now.

(Like I did with a really, *really* terrible book I picked up in a thrift store about a breakout of bubonic plague. I then threw it in the woodstove and burned it up. To heck with pollution, that book was more toxic whole.)

Sadly, I cannot stomp on my TV (broken glass + natural clumsiness = ouch and a rather pissed off Bob who doesn't want to buy another TV just yet), so I just have to wait until next week to find out... something. Something more about the Dharma project, because the preview shows some menacing-looking doors with the Dharma logo on them.

"Carnivale" was somewhat open-ended each week, too. I sincerely hope "Lost" doesn't decide to end in a similar this-is-not-really-making-*any*-sense kind of way. I mean, I was *glued* to Carnivale while it was on - I wanted to know how it was all going to work out! I wanted answers! I followed the story, I picked up all the clues, I even got excited when they were speeding towards what appeared to be shaping up as a giant catastrophic ending with explosions, gunfire, demons, and cats and dogs living in sin. I was on the edge of my seat.

Then I fell off, rather uncomfortably, getting nothing but a bruised elbow (I'm somewhat klutzy that way). Instead of a fantastic free-for-all showdown, I got zip, nothing, nada.

I didn't even get Nada III.

Just like that damned plague book, it got to an excellent place, a point where everything was going to work out splendidly, or everyone was going to die in a peculiarly spectacular manner. Then it mumbled, it snorted, rolled over, and like a runner slipping on a banana peel a yard from the finish line, it anticlimaxed in an appalling cop-out.

And then, it was done.

Bastards.

I like complicated stories and drawn-out plot lines - up to a point. When the complication becomes so complicated that it slips over into the absurd, and the plot lines are stretched thinner than a cheerleader's chewing gum, well, let's just say that I'd like to be using some of Saiyid's Torture Master of DOOM skills on the people who think just sort of petering out pathetically is the way to end a series.

If Lost does this, we may be getting a new TV sooner than Bob thinks.

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen