Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2006-05-02 - 10:11 a.m.

Eat This Book!

Okay, still nothing about the weekend, I've got more fun things to talk about.

Such as this. I don't know how many of you have been following the tempest in a very small teapot over Kaavya Viswanathan and her admitted plagarizing of various books, but The Morning News has, and they're running a competition until May 15th to see who can submit the best story that is completely plagarized (in sentences, not single words, because that's cheating) from other works.

Of *course* I find this tempting. I love ridiculous challenges, and believe me, if I had the time (and didn't have two class handouts and a hand-sewn skirt to make before June 1), I'd be all over this. Bob and I have been trading ideas back and forth all morning; he suggested I throw quotes from some embroidery books in, just for fun, and I started coming up with titles:
"Sewn to Death: Confessions of a Middle-Aged Drama Queen"
"A Stitch in Rhyme" (a murder mystery set entirely to poetry)(for the arty crowd)
"For Whom the Belle Sews" -this one is my favourite.

"For Whom the Belle Sews" - a tale of love, lust and betrayal as one woman stakes her future marriage on the clothes she makes for her intended. Danger mounts as her rival embarks on a sharkskin suit made from a vintage Vogue pattern, but true love prevails with a Zoot Suit and a '40s dance contest.
"Thrilling" - Crafters Quarterly
"Mezmerizing" - Needlework Magazine
"Where can I get that pattern?" - Anna Nicole Smith

Bob countered with:
"Super" - Dick Cheney (with assistance from Brian Fendergras, Mary Kitchburn, Fred Waring, Alex Yardfell, Jimmy Mac Johnson, Terry Gold, Tim Ribbins, Karen Undergarrd, Naome Willows, Jason Farrish, Stan Freedberg, Eric Lokimski, Alice Breckendorff, Bob Gotcha, Osamma Bin Doinitferever, Terrance Stomp, all of the Baldwins, John and Kennie and Nick and all the gang down at the Press Club).

I pointed out that it should be ghostwritten by the employees of Halliburton, and came up with a jacket quote:
"Murmurizing" - G. Bush

The brainstorming continues.

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen