Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2006-09-07 - 9:10 a.m.

Banananananananana

I passed 1000 hits today on my web site. I am quite pleased.

I'm also still in the middle of a five days headache cycle (based on previous experience and the feeling like an ice pick is penetrating my right temple), so I'm not really on top of things today.

That said, I have also consumed a fair amount of forbidden sugar (mmm...sweet), so the ice pick is warring with the temporary glucose boost and the various medications I have taken to be able to negotiate the day.

I am no longer able to remember what life without medications tasted like. I imagine it tasted somewhat like bananas, but that could just be the extra pain meds talking.

I like bananas - they are, for me, the perfect fruit. I remember being rather miffed that they weren't allowed on the stupid (monumentally stupid) cabbage-soup diet, because calorie-wise, they're no worse than a can of peaches in fruit juice (always pear juice, for some reason), and a banana is a perfect thing in and of itself, with no need to augment it (though whipped cream, caramel sauce, and a couple of scoops of praline pecan ice-cream never go amiss).

(That might possibly be why the cabbage-soup diet didn't really work for me - a diet without whipped cream and a maraschino cherry is a diet without sunshine.)

(That, plus cabbage soup really reeks up the house.)

(I'm just sayin'.)

Anyway, bananas. Good flavour, as far as I'm concerned, though I've run into people who can't stand them (a sad thing, I think, though I am not one to judge others by their lunch) or the slightly artifical "banana flavour" that certain things are imbued with. I'm not picky - I like them when the skins are all spotted and brown, and if they're entirely black, I'll still make banana bread with them (I've recently worked out how to make a rather good gluten-free banana muffin, too).

The all-fruit diet offered some banana-eating possibilities, too, though an all-fruit diet becomes untenable rather quickly (that, and I was starting to feel guilty about all the non-recycled cans in my garbage), and I couldn't do it for long (just for reference, I've tried pretty much every strange diet there is, with one constant - none of them work long-term).

Suffice to say, they're probably my favourite fruit. Pears come a close second, but as Eddie Izzard says, pears go through a nanosecond phase of perfect ripeness, and it's never when you're around, so most pears are either under- or over-ripe, and less fun to eat (it's somewhat disheartening to pick up a pear and have it collapse under the weight of the most delicate handling). I love peaches, too, though not enough to equate them to the joys of romantic life as T.S. Eliot did when he wasn't writing about the horrors of anomie in a post-war society wracked by rationing and cold-war paranoia.

Sometimes a peach is just a peach, but it's nothing to be sneezed at, even then. The lovely white peaches available at this time of year are a delight, but the task of getting them home from the grocery store always seems to end in one peach needing to be eaten *right now*, and frankly, I'm not up to the stress.

So, it's back to the banan, which travels pretty well, especially if you don't care about brown spots on the skin.

Viva banana. I'll take mine with all the toppings.

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen