Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2006-09-14 - 5:54 a.m.

I still exist, barely.

Some asshat on the exit from I-95 to the Beltway decided that he didn't want to go that way, so he came to a dead stop on the off ramp. From a speed of 60 miles an hour. Right in front of me. With an SUV behind me and a semi on my right.

My arms hurt terribly badly from gripping the wheel super-hard so I didn't go whirling about in the driving rain that made all of this super duper extra exciting.

I hope the driver gets a really itchy case of crabs that won't go away, and I hope my boss will let me go home as soon as what needs to get done today gets done.

I debated going in today, but I missed a day last week because of a migraine, so against my better instincts, I went in. I hate driving in the pouring rain, not because I don't trust my car (after almost ten years, we know each other pretty well), but because other drivers seem to check their fucking brains at the door. They brake too hard, they drive too close and fast, or they drive ridiculously slow (seriously, If you're driving at 40mph, please put your flashers on!), and they do boneheaded things like slam to a dead stop in the middle of a high-speed off-ramp.

Fortunately, the guy behind me had good brakes. There is almost certainly a backup there still, though, as traffic was heavy today, and I had to come to a dead stop from 60mph because asshat didn't pull off the road when he decided he had gone the wrong way, he just stopped. *In the left lane*.

I'm honestly unharmed by the sheer grace of God.

Thanks, Big Guy.

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen