Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2006-09-20 - 9:44 a.m.

Is it a word? *Really*?

Gardiner's Company will be doing a living history display at Crusades. It's going to be interactive, with food you can sample, games you can play, and lots of pretty things to look at.

I get to be guide and host, which is sort of the same thing I do at Jamestown, and I like doing that, so it should be fun. It will at least give me something other than wandering around or sewing to do.

The shift continues apace; I have most of the body outlines, and then the fill stitches, and the sewing together, and it will be done. I have only found two pictures of the original, but they're of the front and the back, so I can see that my guess about how the front was laid out (I saw the back picture first) was correct.

Little things like that get me through my day.

That, and the drugs.

Thanks to the drugs (probably), I've been obsessed with finding an actual historical reference to the word "attifet" to find out if I'm on crack or if it really is one of those completely misappropriated terms like "Spanish Surcoat". The object the term usually refers to is a wired-front coif, nothing more. It *is* a French word, whose definition is something like "head adornment for women; old". It might be the French equivalent of a mantilla. Or like the camica is the Italian word for "shift", maybe it is simply the French term for the coif.

However, a word search of all of Shakespeare's works and a check through the entirety of the available wardrobe listings for Elizabeth made no mention of a thing called an attifet, and I can't find any reference to it on the intarweb that isn't a modern costumer's site.

My little obsessions. Now you know what my feeble brain thinks up in its spare time.

Reminder: guestbook is down; use "notes" to comment (if you feel like it). Thanks!

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen