Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2005-01-13 - 10:46 a.m.

I thought I signed up for life of pampering and leisure - what happened?

I am so tired, I'm ready to cry.

I got my new office; I have more storage space now, but I had to move the entire operation in an hour yesterday. My boss didn't want me to do it at all this week, but I would have lost the chance at the office if I didn't do it then.

It has a smaller, offset window (better for my plants), but much, much more storage space - and a real desk.

But holy shit, do I accumulate crap (most of it work-related, that's the sad thing).

I didn't even have time to wait for the IT guy; I unplugged everything, heaved it over two cubicles, and plugged it all in again, and prayed (I am so *not* a computer guru of any kind, and there were a *lot* of plugs).

My prayers were answered; everything works, but my penance is being swamped under more work than I can do without hurting myself, and no end in sight.

I can't even prioritize; it's *all* ASAP-must-do-NOW-can-you-work-late? stuff.

Thank you, oh great and powerful US Government, for giving us Monday off so I have four days to recover. Thank you, also, Inauguration committee, for being so freaking hyper about security that you gave the entire Federal and State Government the day off next Thursday. The only thing that's keeping me from weeping openly is the thought of a two-day work week next week, where I can say "Sorry, we're closed. I can get that for you next week".

It's hard to be funny when you're contemplating taking another painkiller just to be able to pull the freaking charts out of their freaking overstuffed file drawers.

Well, my break is over. Once more into the breach, dear friends.

*sob*

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen