Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2005-02-24 - 9:53 a.m.

Snow Day

Snow, snow, snow.

I actually got almost all the way to work this morning, when the snow suddenly started making the roads slick. Since I knew that it would only keep going and get worse, I avoided the near occasion of getting stuck on the really-bad-hill-with-the-light-in-the-middle-that-is-ALWAYS-red, pulled a u-turn, and drove home.

Twenty minutes. I got stuck on that hill last time I was at work when it snowed, and it took me twenty minutes to go ten feet. Overall, it took me almost 45 minutes to make it from the bottom of that hill to the point near the top where my back tyres stopped spinning.

Darn that rear-wheel drive. My car has *fantastic* torque, but that's exactly the thing you *don't* need on ice. Fortunately, someone told me to just keep it in second gear and forget about first gear entirely.

I still spun a lot, but my tyes stopped smoking. That section of the drive probably took at least six months off the lifespan of my rear tyres.

So you can see why I decided to go home, even though the Federal Government is "open, but the weather is being monitored". I can monitor the weather much more safely from the comfort of my couch than the rather more immediate weather experience of driving home at 30mph (any faster, and the rear of the car wants to swing around and say "hi!" to the engine).

It's supposed to snow hardest between 12 and 5pm. I (and my fine ass plan to watch from the balcony.

Everybody stay warm and drive safely.

To copy dragonazure's meme, here are ten interesting things I've done that I think no-one reading this diary has also done (and you have to drink a shot for every thing of mine that you've also done, so line 'em up):

1. Went to a job interview for a phone sex company (chickened out of actually taking the job).
2. Tried to press a pair of frogs like they were flowers (in the back of a book, under leaves).
3. Walked to and from my high school in bare feet.
4. ...and didn't get a tetanus shot afterwards (cut my feet in three places; the shoes I wore hurt worse, though).
5. Cheated on the math portion of my SATs (didn't use them to get into college - English colleges don't consider them valid - so no fraud committed. I got in on the strength of my fine art portfolio alone).
6. Got asked out on a date by the actor Tony Todd (Worf's brother in ST:NG, Candyman, The Rock), but didn't go.
7. Flown over Wales in a hot-air balloon.
8. Collaborated on one of the mosaic panels in the elephant house in the Washington DC Zoo (our class in HS did it as a project - they're pretty cool).
9. Performed at the National Theater (on the stage in the Helen Hayes Lobby, not the main stage, but I was the lead actor).
10. Provided research on coifs and dutch ovens to Jamestown Settlement and Museum (they wanted to know if dutch ovens were used for baking, and whether there was a picture showing one being used that way - I found one).

Anyone up for shots?

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen