Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2005-03-28 - 10:15 a.m.

Party Time

Well, the party went swimmingly, even though some people were slackers and didn't make it. When the pictures get online, I'll post a link.

As it turned out, I was just a cool cyberchick - the latex to attach the cyborg bits caused a very unhappy allergic reaction, so I bagged that part of the costume.

Speaking of bags, I decorated Alan n' Gen's entire basement with black plastic trash bags, and it was *so*freaking*cool*, I was amazed at my decorating acumen.

*ahem*.

It was really cool, though - I got flourescent paint pens, and wrote on the walls, and then left the pens out for other people to play with - the best interactive party game I've ever had. Three things, then, make a party fun:

Booze,
Glow sticks of various kinds,
and
Things for people to do.

The booze was supplied in part by miniatures on the bar, which I hoped people would help themselves to, and they did. Corby and I made mix cds, and he put together this *insane* video presentation for "Calm Salmon Vodka" (name that reference! I couldn't, until he reminded me! Hint: It's from a book), which he was making during the party using a highly entertaining filtering method that involved hoses, a carbon filter or two, glow sticks (for decorative purposes only), and a Sun Tea pitcher that allowed the vodka to breathe.

Glow sticks really were the order of the evening - next time, I'll buy more bracelet and necklace pieces. The goodie bags seemed pretty well received, too - at least, the leftover ones were raided for good stuff, and I took home far fewer toy bits than last year.

Gen made this *extreme* dress and wore thigh high boots, Cosette looked like something out of Tank Girl, Alan was dressed as a South American Dictator (or Stacey Keach in "Escape From L.A."), Bob went steampunk in the coolest all-black cowboy outfit *ever*, I wore my black spiderweb bodysuit, Wendy and Rob were cyborgs (using parts that had been in space, those overachievers), and Aedan came as Alan (Hawaiian shirt). For the others that were there all black was the order of the day (except for Aedan).

It went extremely well. The party even survived me putting in "Wizards" (without the soundtrack) and screaming about the fact that it was supposed to be a kid's movie. We had too much food (I buy for armies, my friend - you will never go hungry at one of my parties), enough booze to choke a horse, and extremely good company.

Blurry pictures soon.

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen