Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2005-03-23 - 9:15 a.m.

Dressing up

The heavy rain combined with the jersey-barriered construction on the road turned my commute into the log-flume ride from Hell[tm] this morning. A couple of times I literally could not see where the hell I was; with a car pacing me on one side, and a shoulderless jersey-barrier wall on the other, it was a tad more exciting than I'm usually reaching for that time of the morning.

I think I want to hit the Country-Western bar with Rhi - we can listen to Brad Paisley's "Mud on the Tires" (excellent song), and drink Bud with a shot of Captain Morgan's in it (I am reliably informed that the addition of a shot of spiced rum makes the Bud infinitely more drinkable). I'll even wear my (black) jeans and (red) western ankle-shoes (good for dancing).

I can't think of the last time I wore those shoes (they don't really go with much in my wardrobe), but I won't throw them out, because I associate them with good times.

You should never keep clothes that don't make you feel happy, no matter how good a bargain/how designer they are - -with a possible exception for presents (I keep those in a box, because I can't get rid of things given with love. Call me sentimental, if you like). I donate stuff to the thrift store a couple of times a year - shoes that looked gorgeous but made me want to die when I wore them, sweaters that didn't fit quite right, even though they were so pretty - lots of stuff that I thought I could make work, but it turned out I was wrong (or the outfit turned out to harbour a deep hatred of anyone wearing it as evidenced by how scratchy the material was).

I'm not ashamed to admit my mistakes - I particularly wish I had pictures of a few of my early SCA clothing mistakes, but alas, they disappeared (I didn't burn them, I swear).

(I do have a pic of the lavender corduroy houpellande with epaulets and square rhinestones, though. It's also an amazingly unflattering picture - I'm fat, I have bad hair, my face is shiny, and I look like I have a hangover. I pull it out when I think I'm getting too vain about my appearance.)

You'll have to excuse me - my mind is on clothes right now, as I'm pulling my costume for Saturday together. I'm going to be a cyborg (keep your jokes about my personality to yourself, thankyouverymuch), and Bob was very sweet and ordered me special make-up bits and a really bitchin' pleather coat. I now have to coordinate the rest of the outfit - and make sure it's all together so I can pack it in a bag and take it with me on Saturday, since I'll be spending most of the day preparing stuff, and I'm not doing that in 3-inch heels.

Does anyone else have the nightmare where you get to an important SCA event, and you've left your clothes behind?

Maybe it's just me.

Maybe I'd better stop now.

Er... yeah.

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen