Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2005-04-11 - 10:24 a.m.

Not Neccessarily the Weekend

Oh no, not work again...

We managed a nice quiet weekend filled with herbal goodness, hip-hop madness, and more gore than I think I've ever seen in the space of two and a half hours.

Saturday night Tara, Pit Boss and I went dancing in Fell's point. Much fun, though it gets pretty insanely crowded by 1am, so that's the perfect time to go get a slice of pizza.

I like dancing.

I do not like the fashions, though - those nasty cheap nylon tops with fluttery bits and no straps look bad on just about everyone. I mean, come on. How can they look in the mirror and think they look hot? They look like they've come out on the losing side from a battle with a chipper-shredder.

Plus, what is it with people who can't dance without spilling their drink all over, hmmm?

(Okay, except for the guy whose *girlfriend* knocked his beer out of his hand. He had that "I know it was just a Bud, but dammmit, I PAID for that drink!" expression on his face for quite a while.)

Tara's friend sweet-talked the door guy into letting us in without the cover charge, and we stayed until it got so insane that I just elbowed my way to the door and waited for the others to come out. And that's another thing; if someone's trying to get past you, you don't stand and block their way - it was pointy elbow time all the way to the door.

I had fun, though - I'd forgotten how much fun it is to just go to a regular bar and dance to non-goth music.

(Though Tara's friend wants to go to Orpheus - that should be fun.)


Sunday we did a little shopping, and I bought plants for the balcony, including lavender, because I suck at remembering to water plants, and lavender does pretty well in dry conditions, as does mint and marigolds, which I also got. I'll plant the herbs today, and get some more flowers to fill the other pots. It should look nice soon enough - if we can persuade the bitch upstairs to switch to husk-free seed (birdseed makes a real mess - seed hulls everywhere).

The we went and saw "Sin City". Holy crap, it's violent. Even though it's cartoonish, it's still really, really *really* graphic, so if "Kill Bill" was a little too much for you, you're not going to like "Sin City".

I liked it, though there were a couple of times I felt a little nauseated. It's *very* graphic-novel like - the storylines are disjointed, and the whole thing only vaguely tracks as a connected story. Stiil, most interesting, though I'd have to agree with other people - Jessic Alba does not fit in with the rest of the cast. Although the dialogue is very stilted, most of the actors can carry it off, but she's not that good (also pretty interchangeable with all the other starlets her age, and a more complicated actress would have done better). However, in her case, it was all bout the booty, and that she *does* have.

Fascinating but gross movie.

I'm smoking my last cigarette this morning - I might bum one off Tara occasionally, but I'm not buying any more. Darn those doctors. You'll excuse me if I'm a little rambly.

And, while I appreciate that there are several people who will be quite glad that I'm quitting, can we take it as read that you're glad, and avoid putting anything in my comments or guestbook? No offense, but I don't want to hear it. I didn't give up because I wanted to, and I'm a bit bitter about it.

If you want to tell me how rude I am for writing that last paragraph, though, I'm all ears.

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen