Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2005-05-23 - 11:18 a.m.

Merry Weekend Joys

Huh. I didn't think I'd be getting nosebleeds this late in the year, but wouldn't you know it - I've soaked two tissues already, and I was just blowing my nose.

I'm a walking biohazard.

We went and saw Kingdom of Heaven on Friday, went to a local event (On Target) on Saturday, and Antique shopping on Sunday. My life just scintillates with excitement and adventure.

Meanwhile, my nose is still bleeding. It's down to a slight trickle now (they are mercifully brief; my brothers' ones used to go on for ten minutes or more. We called him "the gusher"), and the third tissue seems to be doing the trick.

I learned several things this weekend:

1. Pork makes me sick, even if I think it tastes nice. Actually, eating anything at events seems to make me throw up with alarming regularity. I'm sticking to alcohol from now on.

2. Ridley Scott's movies seem to be getting exponentially longer. I think I looked at my watch a dozen times during KoH - not because the movie was boring, but because I couldn't believe how long the movie was.

3. I'm running out of good places to buy postcards. Now, I got a really good haul this weekend, but the price of antique postcards varies wildly from vendor to vendor. Seriously - the only time I would even *think* about paying $10 for a postcard would be if it was a Halloween one (they're a bit harder to find). I'm not paying $15 for an Easter postcard, even if it has gold and angels all over it. Sheesh.

4. I like buying the actual stuff rather than retro reproductions. Partly because it's cheaper (especially at the thrift store!), but mostly because the real thing is cooler.

5. I'm becoming (becoming?!) a real retro-snob.

Have a manageable day, everyone.

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen