Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2005-06-06 - 8:19 a.m.

Don't Panic.

Well, *I* thought "Hitchhiker's" was a scream. I especially liked Bill Nighy doing that little snorting laugh, though Bob pointed out I was the only person in the theater laughing for that one.

It's delightful, though. I thought it was well worth an afternoon.

Now, if I can just prevent the headaches that seem to happen whenever I go out, I'll be happy.

Seriously, I get sick all the time. It goes: Headache, nausea, light sensitivity, taking-pills-until-I-pass-out. It's not migraines, not always (or else I'm getting some kind of migraine lite[tm]), but the nausea is always there.

Oh, well. It's not like I was healthy to begin with, right?

Anyway - Hitchhiker's. Fabulous. I didn't sigh in frustration once - and considering I was sounding pretty gusty throughout "Revenge of the Lisp", I thought that was the sign of a fairly amusing film. The knitted sequence was particularly cute - and the little knitted Marvin was *adorable*. Bob, having not read the book, heard the radio series, nor seen the BBC series, pointed out that it probably didn't seem quite as funny if you weren't familiar with the whole thing, but he seemed to enjoy it anyway.

But enough with the sweetness and boring light - what is it with people who think they can arrive two minutes before the movie starts (on a weekend, yet), and not only expect to sit together, but actually get a good seat?

I mean, think ahead, people, because I'm not moving from my carefully chosen seat right where I want to be just so the four of you can sit together.

(Once, someone asked the entire row we were sitting in to move down one seat so he could sit with a friend. To their credit, no-one moved; they all just stared at him.)

What's that saying? "Your lack of planning does not constitute an emergency on my part". Similarly, your lack of manners does not constitute an obligation on my part to accommodate you.

But I love that way the latecomers stand at the edge of the seats, staring, like they're hoping a pair of seats right in the middle will magically open up.

Similarly, I am nonplussed by the people who walk in late, put their stuff down, then walk out just as the movie starts to get popcorn.

I don't need popcorn that badly. But then, I hate being late for movies. I'll put up with watching whatever peurile slide show they have playing through several repeats if it means that I get the seat I want. I'll throw in an extra five minutes for getting popcorn (okay, actually a blue raspberry freezy, which will then be laced with the rum miniatures I brought in my purse), and if it looks like it's going to take forever (some movie theaters have obviously been employing the living dead for some time; the slowness of the concession staff is legendary), I'll skip the freezy and just drink the alcohol straight from the bottle.

*cough* Mmmmmm... *cough* ...smoooooooth.

But I'm chronically early for everything, even if it means sitting in my car for a few minutes, excavating my glove compartment for the amusement value.

A few minutes extra in the movie theater is worth the lack of stress. And I get to sit where I can put my feet up without disturbing anyone else, unlike the person in the row behind me who took of their shoes and put their stinky bare feet right next to my head on the seat next to me.

Eeeeuw. Don't do that.

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen