Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2005-06-22 - 7:49 a.m.

I see a red moon rising

So, I'm driving to work this morning, and the full moon is red.

Red moon means lunar eclipse, right? Well, no. According to all the things I read, there was no lunar eclipse this morning, so I guess I just saw the effect of pollution in the atmosphere.

(If I'm wrong, I'm sure one of you will tell me.)

Either way, it looked pretty darned cool, even though I had to concentrate on not driving off the road - "I was looking at the mooooooon" is not really a good excuse for totaling one's car.

In England, we always called a big orange moon in Autumn a "harvest moon" - I was always told that this was because the smoke from burning wheat fields (they burn the stalks left after harvesting so that the soil is enriched - natural fertilizer) got into the atmosphere and made the moon look orange.

(Now I can smell phantom burning fields - a very nice smell, especially since it comes tinged with eau de nostalgia.)

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

The pain isn't as bad today - but it's still there. Last night I wore BenGay patches on my arms for relief (comic relief), and spent the evening surrounded in a fragrance that can best be described as "eau de aching stick-jock".

Mmmmm, menthol-y.

Uh, that's all I can think of right now. Maybe an update (or more pictures - you like seeing pictures of me, right? I like it, so you must like it too) of more substance later.

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen