Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2005-07-06 - 10:15 a.m.

The glorious fourth

Okay, my weekend.

Do you really want to know?

I mean, it wasn't bad or anything, but it was pretty quiet, and honestly, how exciting is a bee's nest in the chimney?

Okay, maybe I'll tell you a little bit.

The aforementioned War of the Worlds movie was seen on Friday, and I have to say again that I *really* didn't connect at *all* with the characters - the kids were whiny brats, and the parents were... whiny brats.

I just really have this thing about no safe place to go, so the movie left me feeling a little nauseated on that front. Otherwise, it was okay, but the ending was terribly abrupt and pointless.

(I know, the book ends the same way, but still.)

The farm - has a new bee's nest in the oldest chimney (where we found an ancient nest a few years ago), but since we don't go into that room much, it's just going to stay there until we pull the place down and start building.

(We'll be doing the demolition in the winter - after all the bugs are dead. There are at least three wasp's nests in the walls in addition to the bees.)

It was a fairly insect-intensive weekend - at least, as far as mosquito bites go. I apparently have the most meltingly delectable flesh, as I am *covered* with bites despite liberal sprayings of "Off" (with the new fresh outdoors scent! It's actually not that bad). I have at least three times as many bites as anyone else that was there.

*itch*itch*itch*

There were hundreds of little Praying Mantises around, but they were definitely not doing their job mosquito-wise. I think I need to save up for one of those propane-driven mosquito traps once we're down there full time.

(Knowing my luck, they'd ignore it and follow me anyway. I swear, they were hanging at the door going "Pleeeeeeease let us in, we promise not to bite you!". Liars.)

I also found something like 18 four-leaf clovers. We have mutant clover, but I'm not complaining. My lavender plant is also taking on mega-mutant proportions, so I think I've found at least one plant that likes the soil *and* won't get eaten by deer.

The blackberries won't be ripe for a couple more weeks - we're going down again soon so I can harvest.

Oh, and yeah, there were people (family) over, and we did fireworks and grilled and stuff, but I have to go back to work now.

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen