Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2005-08-22 - 9:14 a.m.

Horror brains - more taste, less flinging.

Horror conventions are apparently like horror movies for me - intense, overwhelming, and I get nightmares.

No, I don't know why the convention gave me nightmares, nor do I know why the nightmares revolved around betrayal, crab-like creatures eating away at people's throats, and the fact that I wasn't allowed to make a sandwich, but then I never really have been able to pin down my psyche with any great success.

Esepcially the sandwich-making part.

The convention was cool - but so much cooler was Bob, who went with me, encouraged me to say something more impressive to Tom Savini than "ulp!", and bought me a glow-in-the-dark brain.

I am new to the concept of paying people for their autograph, but I got on board with it fairly easily, and now I have a photo of the original "Dawn of the Dead" stars with Gaylen Ross and Ken Foree's autographs, plus Tom Savini's, even though he isn't in the picture.

Tom Savini doesn't charge for his autograph, unless you buy one of his prints. Rock Star.

(I bought a print, too.)

The sheer number of people waiting in line for Bruce Campbell's (and a couple of other people's) autograph was amazing - I won't wait for four hours in line for anyone's signature (except maybe if they were signing a very large check over to me), but there were definitely people for whom it was a worthwhile pursuit, judging by the lines.

Gaylen Ross told me I had a beautiful outfit. She's a Rock Star, too.

(She's also gorgeous - and very, very sweet.)

I had star fear - unless I'm introduced socially, I can't handle famous people - I feel like *such* a dork for asking for an autograph, that I shut down completely. Bob was very nice about it.

The vendor's area (it sort of overflowed the room) was *fabulous*; I have a zombie survival packet (destined to become a collectible), a bunch of syringe pens, the aforementioned glowy brain, and some odd bits and pieces. Very nice.

The hotel was a bit sad for me - it's the first time I've been to that hotel since Tracy died - we used to work Star Trek conventions (Shore Leave) there, and walking through the corridors in what I realized was almost exactly the same outfit that I had last worn there when I was with her made me feel kind of funny.

I got several compliments on the outfit, though.

In all, a good weekend, though I feel craptacular this morning, and that's getting me down a bit.

My boss liked the glowy brain I bought for her. Bob asked me if she'd like it, and I pointed out that she had a "grow a brain" kit on her desk for a month or so - a brain in a jar of water - and so I thought she'd be okay with it.

I probably shouldn't have said "My boss needs one of these" to the vendor.

Heh.

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen