Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2005-09-19 - 8:21 a.m.

Monday on my shoulder makes me slap-happy...

I have a meeting in half an hour; I may have to go to Minneapolis soon for a few days.

To do some photocopying, no less. It's all glamour at this job.

Chalice was fun, though I think naming an event after a disaster movie is just begging for some kind of ironic retribution. I got a lot of compliments on the doublet - the dry run of the display led me to three conclusions:

1. Much more stuffing and a weighted base for the body thing I made Friday to show off the doublet three-dimensionally. By the end of the day, the doublet had developed a somewhat depressed look, like the last kid left at the baseball diamond after all the other kids' parents have come and gone (heightened by the fact that it was almost the only thing left in the A&S cabin when we came to get it).

2. The easel to hold the essay book (I'm a laurel; I don't do documentation anymore, and they can't make me) needs to be stronger - the darn thing kept falling over. I think I'll bring my recipe book stand for the Crusades display.

3. A cloth to set the whole thing on is a good idea; the tables in the display cabin were... rustic.

Anyway, if you want to see the doublet and read the accompanying essay (three and a half single-spaced pages, so I'll understand if you skim), it will be set up at Crusades.

I don't care for competitions, but I'm not averse to showing off, you know.

For random people's edification, I might post the essay here - especially if it's been a slow news week.

Speaking of slow, work is not - so I'm going to pad out this entry with ten more random facts about me:

1. If I hadn't been adopted, my name would have been Emma.
2. I can't ever spell receive correctly on the first try (I typed this one out three times).
3. I have really bad phone fear. I even make Bob call for pizza.
4. My pinkie fingers are 1/2" shorter than the proportional average, thereby destroying any chance I had at becoming a concert pianist.
5. When I was a young child, I was terrified of the rabies posters in English airports (to the point of sobbing hysterically when I saw them). This one is somewhat understandable, since the posters were basically a giant skull with the words "Rabies = DEATH" underneath; I credit my obsession with bones and skulls to this formative experience.
6. I go through phases where I only want to eat one thing; currently, it's pineapple, but recently it was cheesy hot dogs, and before that, organic tomato soup.
7. Despite being English, I divide my time equally between coffee and tea. Tea is less bitter, but doesn't taste as good when you put Godiva white chocolate liqueur in it.
8. I cut my own hair, saving *dollars* each year. I also dye my own hair, saving my hair from dull two-tone colour, and my wallet; while I have to buy three boxes of dye each time, it still costs a tenth of what a good salon would charge.
9. I have a scar on my upper lip of unknown origin. The other major scar is on my right knee, which happened in Yugoslavia (that part is now in Croatia) when my brother encouraged me to jump off a diving board in the ocean (resort town) and I smacked my knee into the corner of the concrete base of the board. To his credit, my brother had not intended it to happen; I was too afraid to jump from the top, even though he promised to buy me a gold belt I'd been eyeing in one of the souvenir shops, and so I jumped from the ladder instead (I was 7). He bought me the belt anyway because he felt so bad. The scar is no longer that visible, but I have a couple of divots in that knee.
10. I cleaned bird seed off my balcony yesterday. I'm thinking of buying more plants.

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen