Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2005-09-15 - 6:52 a.m.

My teeth can snap your spine!

I feel great! (temporarily, but I'll take what I can get.)

I woke up this morning for the first time in Ican'trememberhowlong *without* a headache, and the root canal's only half-done!

Yeah, half-done; I not only have teeth that break dental instruments, they have very long roots, extra roots, and they curve.

This probably explains why my teeth are merely cracked all to hell, not little tiny ground-up stumps. I have teeth of iron! Teeth of steel! Teeth that are able to leap tall buildings in a single bound!

Teeth that are able to crush walnuts, apparently.

Anyway, the root canal is going to be finished up two weeks from now, but it doesn't hurt so much.

...Then I get fitted with a bite guard so that my dentist doesn't have fits.

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

I saw a groundhog last week - I was too miserable to write about it - that added to the "groundhogs on fenceposts" listings - not only was it on the top rung of the the three-rung fence, it was leaning on one elbow on the upright post. When I told Bob about it, he asked if it had a beer in the other hand. I said I didn't see one, but you never know...

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

I found many cool bits of ephemera while antique-shopping on Sunday (you know, you have to do something to balance out the stress, and for me, it's discovering bits of 20th century ephemera in antique stores), and some of it may even find its way into other people's hands.

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

This is the final bit of free-range thought today:

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

I was watching "The Grudge" on cable a couple of days ago, and I have to say, it isn't nearly as scary when the action isn't twenty feet tall and in a darkened theatre. The ghost really sort of belches a lot, and seeing the movie again just made me want a bowl of those really thick noodles in a very salty broth.

I can see the movie tie-in now: "Ju-On Udon! A pit of uneasiness in your stomach! Belching guaranteed!".

Otherwise, I still kind of like the movie - it's so *fatalistic*. Western movies are all about the "oh! I'm condemned to death because of an ancient curse! Well, we'd better fix *that*!!". Japanese movies are more about the "You're condemned by an ancient curse, terribly sorry", and you know that you're really just fucked.

While at times it can be a depressing thought, it makes a certain amount of doomed sense.

...And you know, movies where everyone dies can be fun in their own way, even if there's a serious lack of people whapping the ghost with a frying pan.

Japanese ghosts are apparently a little more dangerous than Western ghosts, what with the jaw-ripping and the drowning, and such.

I think I'd be forced to bite them until they squeak.

Hey, I have teeth of steel, y'know? Able to squish belching ghosts in a single snap.

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen