Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2005-10-11 - 11:31 a.m.

Baaaaaa!

I am sheeple, yes, but I'm also short on time.

Forgive me.

1. Name someone with the same birthday as you.

Seurat. The pointy-bits painter who painted extraordinarily stiff-looking people. Take that statement as you will.

2. Where was your first kiss?

Romantic or ever? Ever would be rather a long time ago, and for some reason, I can't recall the details.

Actually, I can't recall the details of the first romantic kiss, either. I mean, I'm sure it must have happened at some point, I just can't remember it. I kissed a lot of guys, you know?

3. Have you ever seriously vandalized someone else's property?

I once wrote all over someone's car in lipstick. The sentiment read: "The no-parking zone starts here (arrow pointing down at the car's mid-point), you jerk". That was the last time that car blocked the easement road.

Other than that, I don't think I've seriously vandalized other people's property, but some of my dolls suffered terrible fates that are still whispered about in hushed voices in Toyland.

4. Have you ever hit someone of the opposite sex?

Frequently. I have the T-shirt (signed) to prove it. I once attacked a kid (my age) with a ruler, but I've calmed down a lot since my "angry young gradeschooler" days.

5. Have you ever sung in front of a large number of people?

Lots. I like singing. I've been singing since I was very little, and I was my mother's party trick ("Laura? Come here and sing for us, will you?"). I've even sung my own compositions in front of people.

6. What's the first thing you notice about the preferred sex?

Their presence. I don't have a favourite thing to notice, so I notice whatever stands out.

I like to people watch, but not neccessarily for the babes.

7. What really turns you on?

[answer deleted in the interests of privacy]

8. What do you order at Starbucks?

Directions to the exit. I'm not a big SBux fan - the coffee is expensive, the tea is nasty, and my scones taste better even after you leave them out on the porch for three weeks. Blech.

9. What is your biggest mistake?

I don't have one. I mean, there are some things I regret, but each has been a valuable learning experience, therefore not really a mistake. Failure makes you a better person - more compassionate, humbler, more patient.

10. Ever hurt yourself on purpose?

I cut myself for a while in my early 20s, and I tried to kill myself twice in my teens. These days, it's mostly limited to plucking my eyebrows, and that doesn't really hurt, you know?

11. Say something totally random about you.

I hate the smell of almonds.

12. Has anyone ever said you looked like a celebrity?

Yes, but in years past, never one they could name. I always was told "you look like that actress - what's her name". Helpful. Someone once said I looked like Michelle Pfeiffer as Heloise in my green velvet cotehardie, and I've been told I have the same body as Marylin Monroe.

Not too shabby, as compliments go.

13. Do you still watch kiddy movies or tv shows?

Sometimes - I like kid's movies sometimes, and I will watch "Daria" if it's on, but really, that's it.

14. Did you have braces?

I had a retainer that gave me TMJ. I can't tell you how delighted I was about that.

15. Are you comfortable with your height?

I always thought 5'6" would be a good height, but I fall about 3" short of that. Most days, people think I'm taller than I actually am, so I guess it only matters when I'm trying to reach things on high shelves.

16. What is the most romantic thing someone of the preferred sex has done for you?

This.

17. When do you know it's love?

When it is.

18. Do you speak any other languages?

Smatterings (well, tiny crumbs, actually) of French, German, Swahili, Japanese, and American. You guys speak a somewhat foreign language, y'know?

19. Have you ever been to a tanning salon?

Hah. I'd need my money back. This skin don't tan, ever. I've tried.

20. What magazines do you read?

Cottage Living, Budget Living, and Martha Stewart's Living.

Catalogues. Many, many catalogues.

21. Have you ever ridden in a limo?

A few times. Usually, I get a little car sick in them, so it's a good thing I don't do it often.

22. Has anyone you were really close with passed away?

Yes. And it's been hard. And I don't want to talk about it.

23. Do you watch MTV?

*eye roll*

24. What's something that really annoys you?

People who talk a big game about how enlightened and tolerant they are, then turn right around and prove conclusively that they're nothing of the sort.

25. What's something you really like?

Bob.

26. Do you like Michael Jackson?

I like some of his songs, but the man scares me and makes me sad all at the same time. He's really, really broken, and I don't think even Elizabeth Taylor can put Humpty back together again.

27. Can you dance?

Yes. I get compliments sometimes, even.

28. What's the latest you have ever stayed up?

I used to be able to go 48 hours without sleep. I was nauseated, dry mouthed and hallucinating by the end, but Sci-fi conventions have that effect on me.

29. Have you ever thought that you were honestly going to die?

I tried, twice. These days I'm glad I wasn't successful, but it was a bit frustrating at the time.

30. Have you ever been rushed by an ambulance into the emergency room?

Twice, per above question.

31. Do you actually read these when other people fill them out?

Mostly. My friends at least. How else would I know whether I want to steal them or not?

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen