Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2006-01-11 - 8:21 a.m.

I want my MTV-strap sandals!

I am embarrassed and elated that legwarmers have made a comeback.

Embarrassed because I wore them the first time around, therefore voiding my right to wear them this time (I'm too old), but I wear them anyway, and elated because it is fucking *freezing* in my office, and the soft cozy legwarmers and armwarmers (long fingerless gloves) set Bob got me for Christmas is keeping me from duct taping my electric foot warmer mat to my body.

The ones I am currently wearing are black, but I have two pairs of pink legwarmers, and one grey pair. If I wear them together, they look vaguely like a fuzzy grey mouse.

(You never layered your legwarmers? You missed out on a classic dancer's style, my friend.)

At least the jazz dancing shoes haven't resurfaced - when I was 15, the Capezio soft leather sole shoes were all the rage. I still have a black pair I snapped up at a thrift store seven years ago, though I haven't danced (other than shaking my hoochie mama ass at clubs) for almost twenty years now.

The jazz shoes were great for actually dancing in - the smooth soles were excellent for glissanding across the floor - but they sucked as footwear. Such was the power of fashion, though, that the girls all wore them anyway (and promptly wore holes in them). I think their (and my) headbands were too tight.

There are fashions from the eighties that I hope stay in their grave forever, and ones that I hope will take their zombie selves and disintegrate again, but some of the stuff I loved - the vintage '40s/'50s dresses, crinoline petticoats worn as outerwear, wide black stretchy belts (I know, I KNOW), and my beloved legwarmers - I hope come back and/or stay for a bit and hang out.

Every trend has its clown clothes, and the '80s were no exception, but some of the stuff was honestly very pretty.

*sigh*

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen