Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2006-03-08 - 9:48 a.m.

Book mobile-a-thing

I need to get on the Library Thing bandwagon, if only to actually catalogue my books in a manner that resembles something more coherent than the "this books fits here" system I currently employ.

Sometimes it's nice, since I discover books I'd forgotten I had, but mostly it's frustrating, since I forget which books I have, and am afraid to buy the same thing over and over again (I have done this more than once).

If I had a library thing, I could attack the second-hand bookstore/warehouse in Rockville with more accuracy (though, if I end up buying a double of something good, I can always sell it or give it away, so it's not all bad).

Yes, we all love books.

We may not all love "American Idol", but I find I'm watching it more this year (and enjoying the recaps on Television Without Pity a LOT). It's got some of the best singers I've heard yet, which makes me watch, since I'm not spending the whole time making "thbbpt!" noises and thinking "I can sing better than THAT".

I love karaoke, but this isn't supposed to be a karaoke show.

(Though now that I think about it, that would be a *hilarious* show, wouldn't it?)

So, no, the singers are for the most part pretty good, but I'm with TWoP - I think the whole thing's already decided (kind of), and the song choices each week seem to reflect that - you *know* who's going to be leaving.

Worse, the "quirky" aspects of the final twelve's personalities have become so caricatured and emphasized that it comes across as really overengineered - we have the dumb hicks, the overacheivers, the God-botherers, and the weirdoes. Why can't we have anyone normal anymore?

I know, I know - for the same reason reality shows pick the most socially dysfunctional people they can for their little sado-fests - because who the hell wants to watch nice normal people interacting? That's like watching home videos of completely uninteresting milestones in people's lives - third birthday parties, and ninth-grade "graduation" ceremonies.

I mean, no-one would want to watch me on "The Real World" (aside from the fact that I'm way too old, shut UP) sit around and sew all evening, right? It's *much* more interesting when people are fighting, even I admit that.

I just like my drama to be *slightly* believable.

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen