Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2006-04-25 - 10:32 a.m.

*Rip*Smash*Eeuuuuww!!* Heh.

When you habitually sleep on your right side and then go and screw up that side's shoulder, your sleep will be less than stellar. Trust me, I *know*.

*Yawn*

A couple of site updates - Gen has been supplying me with beeeyoootiful pictures, and a few of them are up. Sadly, so is one of me in a nice Elizabethan outfit I still have (and love), but looking just *awful* because I'm not wearing the right underpinnings.

Now you know why I maintain the "Hall of Shame".

...And why Gen is one of my bestest friends *evah*. Without her prodding and help, the site would be nonexistent.

In other news, the farm is doing well, despite its attempts to kill me. The wild narcissus was in bloom, the vulture eggs are looking good, and I found the *cutest* turtle that wasn't shy at all, but hissed at me quite delightfully (well, *I* thought it was delightful - the turtle was probably hoping I'd be completely intimidated and put him down).

We also waged deadly war on the bag worms that have nested in *huge* webs this year - I was tearing the webs apart and stomping on the damn things, and Bob cut out the worst of the webs (the branches they're on will die if they're left alone) and torched them in the firepit.

Scream, you little bastards, scream.

I *hate* web worms - the caterpillars can kill an entire tree if left alone, and they're bad this year (I'm guessing because the winter wasn't that cold).

When I first came to the US (at the tender age of 12), I had never heard of bag worms, and the sight of the web-filled trees had me terrified that there were going to be huge spiders *everywhere* in this strange new (hot) land (I came by my arachnophobia early). Finding out that they were just nasty caterpillars took care of that fear (I fear no insect except maybe angry wasps/hornets) (spiders aren't insects), but they were still really annoying, since they seem to favour the nice trees on any property I've ever lived on.

Tearing the web sac open is like something out of a horror movie, though - the caterpillars come *pouring* out, since a big nest can have hundreds of the bastards. The nest is also rather gross, since they're apparently rotten housekeepers, and the bottom of the web fills up with caterpillar poop.

I'm sure you all will join me now in a hearty "Eeeuuuwwwwwwwwwwww!!".

We also did a bit of antique shopping over the weekend - I got '50s magazines, a *bunch* of postcards, a blue and white transferware cheese dish (I collect blue and white china when I can afford it), some dollhouse miniatures, a couple of lead rabbits for the creche, and the most hilarious ashtray that is in the shape of a porcelain knight (Japan, probably 1950s). This excellent haul mostly made up for the deck trying to kill me.

Okay, it completely made up for it. I had a *great* weekend.

We also saw "Silent Hill" on Friday - I'll post a review soon, but if you're into the game or the kind of stuff the game does, you'll probably like the movie. I *loved* it, but the whole plot, special effects, actors, and everything, was right up my alley, movie-wise, and I'm easy to please when it comes to spooky supernatural horror movies.

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen