Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2006-06-12 - 11:25 a.m.

St. Aidan's

This is the house I wish I could retire to.

It's my father's house up in Northumberland, and is *right* underneath the castle. In the summer sunset, the rabbits all come out on the cricket green in front of the house, and you can sneak up quite close to them before they run.

If you cross the green, you'll get to a pathway that leads to the beach less than five minutes from the house. If you feel like climbing dunes, there's a more athletic but fun way to get to the beach by walking up the road to the castle and down through a quarter mile of sand dunes that we used to play "Prisoner's Base" in when we were children.

The castle is owned by the sister of a great-aunt by marriage, and is a marvel of poorly put-together artifiacts (the good stuff is all on loan from real museums). The gift shop and "dungeon" are not to be missed if you feel like a good laugh.

I love this place - if I could afford to, I'd buy it from him and take care of it and love it and spend my summers there.

*sigh*

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen