Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2006-06-27 - 7:39 a.m.

Creativity

I like this because I love performance art that actually involves making things, rather than just standing around looking stupid.

My final exam project my first year at Cambridge was supposed to be a picture/sculpture for the college art show, held at a real gallery (gasp!). I created a bunch of hand prints in paint (the kind kindergarteners make) and wrote Kafka quotes all over them. Then I stuck them on the wall of the stairway leading to the gallery.

Not a lot of people got it (many still don't), but just enough people said "that's weird, but cool" that I felt pretty good about it.

Accessible, that's me.

Now I just paint big splodges of paint on canvas. There was the phase when I was painting medical deformities in a somewhat surrealistic manner, and I may explore that again, but who knows.

Leaving for England tomorrow; can't wait.

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen