Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2006-06-22 - 9:15 a.m.

Goin' home

I am deeply looking forward to going to England next week.

(Yes, I'll be silent as the grave until the 15th of July unless I feel like posting over there, but don't worry, I'll give you all a full accounting when I get back.)

(That should fill up, oh, two days, at least.)

I was watching music videos last night (VH1 Classic rocks - three hours of '80s videos) and the Pet Shop Boys video made me *twinge* with longing to see London again. I don't get homesick often, but the fact that I still think of it as "homesick" in some small part of my psyche tells me that there is a part of me that will forever be the little bit of London that's right next to Primrose Hill.

It's a nice bit - it's one of the highest points in London, and from the top, you got an amazing panoramic view of most of the city. There's even a "horizon identifier" chart done in brass so you can know what you're looking at (it's now a minor tourist destination).

I'm very ready for it - it smells different, it sounds different, and it looks different, and I'm not just talking about the gum everywhere.

Mind you, it's not like it was when I was achild, either. Real estate is at such a premium that all the old bomb sites (where houses had been destroyed in WWII by German air raids) I remember as child in the '70s are now "bijoux-flat/home complexes". But my old schools are still there, and Highgate Cemetery, where Karl Marx is buried, is still the same (I want to take Bob there - it's really cool, and the older closed-off part of the cemetery is frequently used for horror movies). The parks and the zoo are still the same, and the tourists - well, the tourists never change.

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen