Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2006-09-12 - 9:05 a.m.

Disappointment

There's some discussion on the Merry Rose list about whether people should be told whether a candidate is going to be elevated or not, prompted by Elspet's elevation at Coronation (hooray for her!).

I think that the Crown is going to do what the Crown is going to do; one rolls with the punches. (And I'm *really* not sure that writing a letter in a public forum was the correct way to discuss it; I thought that was actually quite discourteous.)

However, I'm still quite upset over missing it (it was a question of timing - whether to go to Coronation, or take the first chance to see my apprentice in months; since I didn't know what was going on, I chose to see my apprentice), and I've managed somewhat to pin down why. Not just because I missed it, but because people who are close to me were told, and no-one considered my presence at the ceremony important enough to tell me.

I have to admit it, that hurts. That really hurts. Sorry, guys, but it does. But it's *okay*. There were just some reasons I would really have liked to have been there:

As one of the first people to get to know her in the SCA, I would have liked the chance to speak for her. If Aldise hadn't grabbed her, I would have taken her as *my* apprentice (I wanted her to find her feet a little first, and was beaten to the punch). Elspet and I have talked constantly about all sorts of things over the time we have known each other, and I hoped that if I couldn't be her peer, I could at least be a supporter and mentor.

*She* is *special* to me, and I feel very sad that I was not given the chance to decide whether I could make it to her elevation or not. I'm still very sad about this, but I'm recovering.

...somewhat. *grump*

...and why did no-one think to ask whether *I* would have done her scroll? I would have, no matter how short the timeline.

Poop.

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen