Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2006-10-12 - 10:30 a.m.

I had a brain around here somewhere...

I *so* don't feel like writing today. I didn't yesterday, nor for several days before that. Sorry.

(Isn't saying "*so*" as emphasis *so* over? I'm so behind the times.)

It's okay on the days when this is the only place I'm writing, but man, lately it seems I've had to write letter after letter, update articles, and you know, actual work stuff, and I'm just not into it. I have to soldier on a bit more - seven more posts and I'm at 1000 Diaryland entries. What happens after that? I don't know, but 1000 has a nice ring to it.

Mind you, if all I'm doing is crap filler like this post, that's kind of cheating, so I'll give it my best and make the next few posts a lot more readable than this one.

I find it terribly meta to write about diary writing in my diary. Like anyone cares. I think that's part of the appeal.

If anyone does care, I'm back on the low-sugar low-carb diet, and I'm sleeping better. This should make me want to write more, but it's just making me do more of the work I'm actually paid to do.

When did I get my priorities so screwed up? Work is what you do when someone else is watching, right?

Yeah, right.

Anyway, it's been a dry couple of weeks, inspiration-wise; I've been worried about some things, and that always saps my creativity, and I keep feeling like I'm on the last leg of the embroidered shift (as in, I probably have less than 100 hours to go, but not much less, so why I would think I'm almost done I don't know) so I keep sitting down and working on that instead of other things.

Like, it took a tremendous effort of will to stop embroidering and do two of the three sketches I need before I can put out the update to the web site (er, plus a bunch of other photos, but hey). I had to *force* myself to stop.

It helped that "Lost" is really starting out in crappy mode this season, so I couldn't stand sitting there watching it while I sewed, but without that incentive, I'd have put it off for another night, and before you know it, it's November, and no update, which I *promised* myself I'd get off the ground by the end of September, though now it's definitely sometime before... erm, let's just say "the end of the year" to be safe. Maybe as a nice Christmas present, or something.

I'm just sayin'. Every time I get one thing done, another this-needs-to-be-done pops up. And I have the disadvantage that my work computer won't upload my photos properly, but I should be getting a new computer today, and we'll see how it goes. More likely I'll come in on Monday and find I can't do a damn thing but actually work.

And you know how much I like *that*.

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen