Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2006-11-02 - 7:27 a.m.

The slasher strikes again

It's official. I'll be taking a short hiatus soon, then I'll be moving the journal to two separate places. The first one will be on Blogger, and will be for mundane musings (that one will probably update more often), and the second will be at LiveJournal (yes, I know), and dedicated to sewing/costuming stuff - basically an adjunct to my web site. It's called attack_laurel. Natch.

But that's a couple of posts in the future. At the moment, I'm still here.

It was a sucky day yesterday - my convertible roof got slashed again. This time, whoever did it cut a neat square hole over the driver's side and opened the door, leaving it ajar after they realized there was nothing in there worth stealing (seriously - I don't keep anything valuable in my car, it's a convertible, for God's sake). So yesterday was insurance calls, police reports, and mending the hole in the roof (since it takes several days and may be a week or more before I can get a new one), all done, thankfully, by Bob, who was an absolute champ.

The mend is holding, thanks to Bob's ingenuity with rip-stop nylon and artificial sinew thread. He suggested I put bolts on the car and call it "Franken-car". Poor little Miata - it's been so abused.

We also test-drove a Solstice yesterday, and as a consequence, it is now off my list of cars I might want. It's a Miata/Triumph sports car designed for a 6' man, not me. Don't get me wrong, the ride is very smooth, and the car is very attractive, but I'm way too short for it. I couldn't see out the back window when I turned around, and the blind spots really made me nervous. Plus, the cute retro-y speedometer and dials are made of really cheap silvered plastic, the turn signal makes a hideous "clip-clop, clip-clop" noise, and the center console is shaped in such a way that I bang my elbow on it every time I change gears. Overall, very disappointing.

(They also banged it up getting it off the grass so I could test-drive it, so I felt really bad saying no, but I'm not buying a car I don't like driving just to make someone else feel better.)

So, it's going to be the Miata and me for a bit longer. Aside from the bi-yearly roof slashings, she's just a babe to drive (though she really needs to go in the shop at the moment - she's rattling a bit).

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen