Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2005-04-05 - 8:23 a.m.

*grumble*

I didn't write anything yesterday for two reasons:

1. I had a mountain of work, which led to me being at work two hours later than normal (while this may make the rest of you snort in derisive laughter, 8 straight hours of assessing and calculating statistics sucks, especially if you're a fine arts major), and

2) I was feeling a bit jaded about people after the weekend, and didn't really feel like turning my diary into a rant about how it sometimes seems like people are a lot less likely to leap out of their seats and offer to help at events these days, because it's probably not true - I just feel sad that so many people sit there and blink like... er... blinking lumps when the call goes out that someone needs help. Or sit there and stare at someone obviously having issues with something, instead of asking if they need assistance.

I'm just sayin'. Plus, more people need to learn how to drive in mud, but what can you do?

But the people who took down part of the permanent fence to get their car out and **DIDN'T PUT IT BACK** can rot in hell. We don't spend a huge amount of time working with the few sites we have so that your lazy ass can ruin it for us. Whatever happened to "leave the site better than we found it"?

And don't even get me started on the state of the Royal cabin or the rude people.

I just think people really need to try and minimize the number of actions and words that they have to apologize for later. If you have to apologize, maybe you should have thought a little harder about what you're going to do/say.

I'm just sayin'.

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Don't mind me; it's just the statistics talking. Lots of people were very helpful. But, if reading this makes you squirm a little and get angry at me for making you feel that way, maybe there's a reason, and it ain't me.

Newer people in the SCA learn by example; if there's no-one stepping forward until they're begged to help, what does that teach people? Eventually, all the old workhorses are going to wear out; before that time, we need a whole new generation of people willing to take over. We have some, but they're getting worked to death - if everyone dedicated half an hour to event help (not including your own setup), it gives *everyone* more free time to do other things.

Lots of people worked very, very hard this weekend, don't get me wrong - I just feel frustrated by things that should not have happened, that had to be fixed by other people. You make a mess, clean it up.

But I'm just sayin'.

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen