Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2005-04-21 - 10:30 a.m.

The end of the world? Not before that assignment's due.

I forgot to mention that we saw a groundhog on the way back from the farm.

On a fencepost.

On *top* of a fencepost, up on its hindquarters, and surveying the world.

I think it's a sign of the apocalypse, or something - "And lo, the groundhogs did take to be as cats, and sat upon the fenceposts of Mammon to better witness the destruction of the sinful masses..."

Sounds like Revelations to me.

The Director's cut - I bet there's some good stuff that got cut out because of time constraints.

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

No update yesterday - work was a mad swamp dash to get data in (i.e., slow, tense, tiring, *and* painful), and I was trapped at my desk for nine hours without a break. Fortunately, today is much quieter, hence the more relaxed tone of this entry.

Aside from the end of the world as heralded by groundhogs on fenceposts, that is.

("Groundhogs on Fenceposts" would be a good name for a band.)

My hands still hurt, but what else is new? Actually, they started hurting badly on Tuesday, which didn't help matters when after-practice dinner at our usual place was so delayed that we had to get ours to go, with the end result that I burst into tears in the car - an anticipated nice dinner screwed up (and no midday nap), will do that to me. My arm nerves were pinging like they do when I get the full electrodes test from the neurologist (which is muy painful), combined with the same pain sensation I got when my doctor tried acupuncture on me (which only served to cement my feelings against the whole idea). Not fun.

*sigh* I am moody, hear me roar. My Unitarian Jihad name should be "Psycho Scimitar of Sweet, Sweet Madness", but it's not. Darn those random name generators.

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

So- New Pope.

PopeMan - Ready for any Papal Emergency! Dial the special Gold Phone, and he'll come to your rescue!

(Except he's a bit old, so it might take him a little time to get there, since all old guys seem to drive at exactly 35 mph, no matter where they are.)

(Unless they're wearing a hat, which he does - then they drive at 33mph, because of the increased wind resistance.)

(Mind you, the Pontiff's hat is relatively streamlined, so maybe it won't matter.)

Uh, yes - new Pope, and lots of people talking about it. I'm interested in the different viewpoints, but only in a purely intellectual way, because Catholology ceased to be a large thing in my life many years ago. And I'm a smartass, so I can't take anything seriously, especially when I haven't had enough sleep.

Why should the Church of Cathol and its new spiritual leader be exempt from my ravings?

(Well, aside from the whole "I'm going to hell" aspect.)

I like the concept, don't get me wrong - it's a very pretty religion. It's got some good literature, some *gorgeous* churches that make you really believe in the Divine Presence, and that whole "tortured Irish Catholic poet drinking himself to death" thing is still quite appealing to a girl who likes dissolute men (as long as it's just an act - the real thing is actually rather depressing, and it's *impossible* to get a drunken Irishman to buy one expensive jewelry, since their money always goes on booze).

Mmmmm, drunken Irish poets... *reverie*

Catholicism produces the best bad boys, I think - all guilt and brooding sensibilities. Lots of fun to date, but don't fall in love. For that, you need an ex-Catholic...

Okay, maybe that's just me. But I love my ex-Catholic former altar-boy turned bad boy. He takes very good care of my psycho scimitar self. :)

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen