Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2005-04-22 - 10:57 a.m.

It's Earth Day - and I'm staying inside where the Earth can't get me.

Happy Earth Day.

In deference to the dominant species on the planet, I will now tell what I learned in and out of class today:

1) The Radiology 3D Imaging Department has a sense of humour - I walked by their front office window where they keep samples of the 3D models they make. Someone had hung a "Got Milk?" sign on the spinal column model in the center.

2) Our office is lined with boxes of bike helmets - part of a drive to increase brain injury awareness, and everyone in the office will get one (and a whole bunch of kids will get one, too). This may not sound particularly exciting, but they're decorated to look like *brains*. I will finally have my very own external brain pack.

3) I can't sit through a day-long series of lectures without falling asleep, no matter how dynamic the speaker is - and let's face it, doctors aren't the most animated of lecturers.

And now, the actual interesting bit of information I gleaned from a lecture that was mostly over my head:

4) If you're going to have a car accident, make sure you down a Starbucks Venti Mocha Latte beforehand - extra caffeine inhibits or fixes something-or-other in your brain chemicals that aids recovery from traumatic brain injury.

Plus, it helps if you're female.

The ultimate lesson of course, is don't get your head smacked around.

I love science.

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen