Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2005-05-11 - 7:41 a.m.

Rock me like an F5 Tornado








The Veteran
You scored 88%!
You've picked up the majority of the classic rock basics. You probably have a classic rock collection and can sing along with most of the songs on your local radio station. This is not the highest score, but it is arguably the best: that subtle combination of impressive knowledge and not being a pretentious geek.





My test tracked 1 variable How you compared to other people your age and gender:










free online datingfree online dating
You scored higher than 24% on notes
Link: The BASIC classic rock Test written by allmydays on Ok Cupid

(I *think* that's Keith Moon in the picture. I'm pretty sure it's not the drummer from Lynnrd Skynnrd, but I can't quite see the arms, so I'm not completely sure. That is a very Keith Moon expression, though.)

Hah. Considering one of my secret shames (I have many, that's why they're mostly secret) is that I listened to the "Lite Rock" radio station pretty exclusively during my teenage years, I think I did pretty well (especially since it took me years to find out that "Satisfaction", while the best known of the Rolling Stones' songs, is not nearly the coolest).

(The coolest would be a toss up between "The Girl With the Far Away Eyes" and "Sympathy For The Devil".)

(And "Paint it Black". Damn, they did some good stuff back in the day.)

Bob and I used to go to a diner on Route 1 (Frank's) where they had those juke-box thingies in the booths that played 5 songs for $1 (quarters only). A number of kitschy places have them now, but they're usually a mix of contemporary and classics-so-well-known-you-want-to-scream-when-you-hear-them-again-except-for-"Georgia on My Mind"-which-is-always-cool music.

Frank's had the most eclectic collection of songs I've ever seen in my life, and I always made sure I had quarters so that we could sing (probably annoying the other restaurant patrons, but who cares on a Tuesday night? Plus, we sing pretty well). We do a bitchin' rendition of "Hang on Sloopy", by the way. We always had to keep the box away from Giacomo, because he'd always dial up "El Paso", and that song goes on for something like fifty million years.

I often had to be persuaded *not* to play such hideous Vietnam-era songs as "Eve of Destruction", and "In the Year 2929", because I have a sick sense of humour that other people often don't appreciate, especially at 9pm on a Tuesday. Everyone was always amused at the fact that I really like "Ring of Fire" (because Johnny Cash is a close personal friend of God, and y'all know it).

We had a panoply of favourites - I like "It's My Party" and "Angel of the Morning", Giacomo loved "Low Rider", and Harv enjoyed "Crazy" every now and then. We could get the whole table 4-6 people usually) going on "The Lion Sleeps Tonight".

Good times, good times.

The game I liked to play when it was just Bob and me was "sing that tune". I would read out the name of some obscure tune on the listing, and he would sing it. I think there wasn't a single one (post 1955) that he didn't know. It became a contest sometimes with other friends - they'd read through the extensive list, name some impossibly obscure song, and Bob would start singing it.

In fact, Bob introduced me to a number of songs that I like, and had never heard of - mostly by singing them to me. I am particularly partial to his rendition of "It's Only Make Believe", and I can now do most of the harmony parts to "Suspicious Minds".

So, the fact that I did that well on the classic rock test is probably Bob's doing. As a teenager, Barry Manilow was more my speed (I held off on being cool until I was old enough to drink, apparently), and I will own up to having a Judy Collins tape that I even sang along with.

Even I couldn't stop laughing the first time I heard "MacArthur Park", though. That song is just *weird*.

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen