Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2005-07-21 - 8:39 a.m.

Harvest time

I hate this weather. My head hurts.

Apparently, everyone else's head hurts too, so I have the comfort of knowing I'm not alone.

Which shouldn't comfort me - I wouldn't wish this headache on anyone. I'm just glad it's not a migraine.

Yet.

We're going down to the farm this weekend - it's blackberry-picking time! I have learned from last year's experience that blackberry picking in the States is not the carefree wandering down hedgerows that it used to be at my grandmothers, but a systematic assault on viciously prickly plants and insects that see you as a giant glowing neon "FREE FOOD" sign.

I've packed jeans. And long-sleeved shirts. The new bug spray is waiting at the farmhouse. The serious boots will be worn.

I have to decide what to make from the crop this year - I still have good jam left over from last year, so jam is probably out.

(Does anyone want some organic blackberry jam? No pesticides, no preservatives except for sugar, and natural pectin. Let me know.)

I'm thinking alcoholic berries (pack berries and sugar into a large Mason jar, fill to the brim with vodka, let steep three months), syrup (cook blackberries in sugar; strain), and maybe saving some frozen ones for turnovers and tarts.

mmmmm, alcoholic blackberries.

Let me know what you think!

(Yes, *you*. The one with the mouse.)

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen