Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2005-07-26 - 10:48 a.m.

Rural life is fine!

I am still thinking fluffy baby bird thoughts. Apparently, the Black Vulture is not the brightest bulb in the bird chandelier - they're prone to forgetting where they laid their eggs, and since they have no sense of smell, they have to follow turkey vultures to find food.

Still, they're one of my favourite birds. I feel very lucky to have the babies in the barn, since the vultures at the farm are very shy, and prone to flying away when they see us walking about, even when they're at the top of the black walnut where we can't possibly get them.

I do love being down there. Last weekend was one of the happiest I've had at the farm, only surpassed by the time we got snowed in. Don't get me wrong; I *always* love being there, but some weekends are extra special.

Speaking of extra special, the local newspaper/circular, the "Buckingham Beacon" is really something else, as is the classified ads circular for the region, but let's start with the BB.

The hardest hitting journalism was all about the local horse rescue farm, and reading the article caused me to learn the following chunks of extra-crunchy knowledge:

1. The US is the number one exporter of horse meat to Asia.
2. Some congressmen think that's bad, and we should keep horses as pets instead of meat.
3. Horse meat is lower in calories and higher in protein than cow meat.
4. The local farm rescues horses that were going to be sold as meat.

The main thing I got out of it is that Americans don't like eating their pets. I'm okay with this up to a point - I don't think cat meat is ever going to be a big seller with the gourmet crowd - but I think it's a little silly.

(Bob thinks it's a lot more silly.)

People have pet cows and pigs - I guess they're the meat pets. Dogs and cats are fur pets, so why shouldn't cows and pigs be meat pets?

Mmm, meat pets.

Apparently, the Virgina penchant for keeping animals as pets backfired for one person in the classified circular, though - there was an ad which offered a camel for $1600 or best offer, but "will consider trading for Harley Davidson bike".

I'm guessing the camel didn't move fast enough.

Mmmmmmm... meat pets.

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen