Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2006-04-11 - 11:47 a.m.

Sunglasses survey!

I finally got a new essay up on my site; it's about women's clothes in London circa 1580. It's a short overview; the mammoth survey will be happening (hopefully) sometime later this year.

I had to unpick so stuff on the jacket again - A little readjustment of length is required for the front gussets, and with embroidered stuff, you don't just cut it. All is well, though - I'm just taking my time to do it right (as one always should).

They've been talking about sunglasses on the Merry Rose, and how a certain re-enactment (US Civil War) group was nabbing participants because they were wearing modern sunglasses. I'm curious, so it's survey time:

People wear sunglasses at SCA events. What do you think about this (feel free to add more comments!)?

1. It's fine - I do it all the time, and I don't think it detracts from the event.

2. I do it for medical reasons (lasik surgery, migraines, medication that makes you light sensitive, etc.), and don't think it's a big deal.

2a. I do it for medical reasons (see above), but feel embarassed about it.

3. I think people should make the effort to make their sunglasses look at least a little bit period-oid - Aviators and Ray-Bans are distracting.

4. I think people should make the effort to look more period and wear veils or hats instead (unless they have documentable period sunglasses).

5. I think sunglasses are of the Debil, and wish they would be banned.

Opine away!

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen