Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2006-04-12 - 8:31 a.m.

More about meme

Yes, I'm totally cheating today - I have two big meetings and a bunch of stuff to do.

Thanks for the sunglasses thoughts - it polarized (har!) pretty much the way I thought it would. For the record, I get migraines if I'm out in the sun too long, but I know that there are people who will look at what I do and assume it's okay because I'm doing it, so I won't wear sunglasses at an event. I feel a responsibility to people to set an example, but I don't demand that of anyone else who doesn't want to do it; all I'd ever ask of anyone else is that they don't wear ultra-modern sunglasses someplace where they'll be very visible, such as retaining at Court. However, I don't like them, and I personally feel that they ruin the period look of whatever one is wearing. Everyone makes a choice, right?

Anyway:

1. Do you still talk to the person you had your first kiss with?

Lord, no. I was 13, and pretending to be 18 (when I was fatter, I looked older) at a Sci-fi convention, and doing rather well with a rather cute guy until a "friend" tipped him off to my real age. He was nice about it, but that was the end of it.

...It's probably just as well it ended there.

2. What would you do with 1,000 plastic spoons?

Store them against the day when civilization collapses completely and luxuries such as plastic spoons are a longed-for dream. At such time, the farmhouse will be converted to a fortress, and the moat will be filled with alligators. Those who are allowed to enter will be given a plastic spoon as a sign of their alliegance, and will be required to keep it on their person at all times for identification.

...this offer will be reserved to the first 998 friends to arrive at the farmhouse.

3. What did you do when you were in school in the 2nd grade?

That would be Primary School, wouldn't it. I'd have been 6, so I hadn't started attending the Church school yet, so I was still at Primrose Hill. My strongest memories of that time were "forgetting" to wear underwear on a regular basis so I wouldn't have to do P.E. (my hatred of uneccessary sweating started early), and having to take extra reading classes because I stuttered (brain too fast for mouth to process words). Oh, and naps. I remember taking a lot of naps.

...There might have been an incident with a hamster around about that time, too, but it's all a little hazy.

4. What is the best thing about your job?

Having a door that locks so I can waste time writing this instead of checking forms and doing statistical math.

5. Do you have a crush on more than one person right now?

Define "crush". I recall crushes being those agonizing adolescent things where one was helpless to do anything to let the object of one's obsession know that they were being obsessed about. If I'm remembering those days correctly, I'm deeply glad that I don't feel like that anymore. Being in love is much more satisfying, and being an adult means one gets to take action on such things.

...Hence my current marriage.

6. Are you against same sex marriage?

I think if a church feels it's okay for people of any gender to get married under their roof, then it behooves the Government to recognize that not all religions think homosexuality is bad, so the Government shouldn't have an opinion one way or the other. Either recognize all unions or don't.

7. Did you vote for Bush?

Can't vote in this country, so no, but I wouldn't have if I could. He scares me.

...You know the movie "The Dead Zone" where Christopher Walken is the psychic who stops crazy Martin Sheen from blowing up the country? Bush reminds me of the Martin Sheen character. *shiver*

8. Where are you going on your next vacation?

England, England, England. I get to see my moooootheerrrrr *singsong voice* and my new nephew, and stuff. Haven't been over for a couple of years, so I'm looking forward to it.

9. Have you kissed any of your LJ friends?

Change that to Diaryland, and yes, I have. *smooch*

10. Are most of your friends guys or girls?

Both. At one time, I had many more guy friends, but I've balanced that out a bit. Rather than gender, I look for people that can handle my high-maintenance mood swings.

...that, and my juvenile sense of humour. I'm not the shopping-heart-to-heart-ragging-on-significant-others kind of gal.

11. Do you own any furniture from Ikea?

Yes. Ikea is verrrrry useful even if you're not into Danish Moderne; I have a pair of beautiful Beidermeier-style dressers in the bedroom and a splendid shelf system Bob put up in the studio.

12. Last book you read?

All the way through, as opposed to research work? "The Day of the Triffids", by John Wyndham. I re-read it every couple of years; it's a fabulous book.

13. If you could have one super power what would it be?

The ability to hear a piece of music once and reproduce it on any instrument. Strange, I know, but I *really* wish learning the violin wasn't so difficult (actually impossible right now; I can't hold the instrument properly with my hands the way they are), and I'd like to be better at the piano.

14. Where have you lived most of your life?

Maryland, USA, though I still think of myself as completely English. Funny, non? With all the current immigration furor going on, I must shamefacedly admit that I never want to become fully Americanized - legally, sure, but not in my heart. I am English, and always will be, no matter how long I live here. It's just the way most first-generation immigrants feel.

15. What was the last convo you had about?

Don't remember; I haven't talked to anyone yet today, except to say "I love you" as I always do to Bob before I leave for work.

16. Where do you see yourself in four years?

Down at the farm, building things.

17. What's your favorite smell?

Lily-of-the-Valley, Early Grey tea, and Gin (juniper berry).

18. What is your favorite sound?

The click of the door that tells me Bob's home.

19. Are you moody?

I prefer the term "Mercurial". There is an upside to being moody - once problems are solved, I won't hold a grudge.

20. Favorite movie of all time?

Zombies! Take your pick.

21. Have you ever gone to therapy?

All through my teenage years. I refuse to go now, as those years cemented my distrust of most professional therapists.

22. Have you ever played Spin the Bottle?

Many times. It's underrated, mostly.

23. Have you ever toilet papered someone's house?

No, though I've considered egging the cars that people park in the best spaces then never move at the apartment complex.

24. Have you ever liked someone and not told them?

Sure. Haven't we all?

25. Have you ever gone camping?

Pennsic only sort of counts - but we camped a lot when we were kids - my father is good friends with a sheep farmer up in Scotland, and we used to camp on his land - at the base of an old Roman fort, by a stream, with wildflowers, otters, fish, and once, a really cool meteor. There was about 1,000 acres we could hike around in, and a lot of it hilly, with such fun things like vertical scree, ancient abandoned farmsteads, and hostile sheep.

Good times, good times.

26. Have you ever had a crush on your sibling's friend?

My brother had a friend called Jack that I was madlessly, hopelessly in love with for about a year and a half. He was seven years older than me, and was *so* handsome.

27. Have you ever gone to a nude beach?

Yes, but I didn't disrobe. Americans are more intrigued by the idea than they need to be - it's mostly older people, and very unerotic.

28. Have you ever gone streaking?

No, but I will wander around the house in the nude on occasion.

29. Have you ever had a stalker?

I found out once in high school that a boy had a crush on me - from his father, who was a substitute teacher at the school. That was a bit weird. I also found out after he left the school that another boy liked me, and would carefully arrange to be where I was during the day. Dense me - I didn't realize, and actually would have liked to date him, but thought he wasn't interested.

...We screw up so much when we're young.

30. Have you ever gone skinny dipping?

Yes. Want more details? Tough. Haven't done it in the last few years, though I did participate in a topless hot-tub session where none of us had brought bathing suits.

31. Have you ever laughed so hard you cried?

Yes. This is how the "hamster-ball" and "Provost bastard" stories were born.

32. Have you ever gone to a party where you were the only one who was sober?

Fortunately, I've always had one or two fellow-not-drunks around to help with clean-up. Marines can be useful when you need to throw a bunch of drunk asshole students out of your house.

33. Have you ever been in love?

Mais oui.

34. Have you ever felt betrayed by your best friend?

Unfortunately. More fortunately, not recently.

35. Have you ever lied to your parents?

Still do: "No Mum, I'm fine". :)

36. Have you ever been out of the country?

England, France, Austria, Germany, Belgium, Holland, Denmark, Italy, and the parts of the former Yugoslavia that are now Croatia and Bosnia-Herzegovina.

37. Have you ever thrown up from working out?

Let me just say that while working out is good for a mild hangover, when you have downed an entire one-litre bottle of flavoured rum a shot at a time the night before, doing 45 minutes on the stairmaster at 7am the next morning will merely get the quiescent alcohol in your system moving, and you will be very, very sick.

...For three days. And throw up a lot. At the same intersection on the way to and from the CVS where your long-suffering husband has taken you to get anti-nausea meds.

38. Have you ever gotten a haircut so bad that you wore a hat for a month straight?

No, but I got a perm so horrific that it persuaded me to sign up with Jenny Craig and lose 70 pounds.

...Best perm I ever got, actually.

39. Have you ever eaten 3 meals from 3 different fast food places in 1 day?

No. I would be *so* sick if I did that. I can handle one fast food meal, but any more than that, and it's nausea time (can't handle the grease). I love going out to eat, though I prefer sit-down places, but I'm not always sure why - I have such bad luck with food orders in restaurants that my friends are all now convinced I'm cursed.

Except at Chinese Buffet restaurants - those are the sweet blessed places where there will *always* be something nice to eat.

40. Last song you listened to?

Something barely audible on my office radio - I keep it pretty low. If it's a song I recognize, I'll be able to follow it, but mostly, it's just there to drown out distracting noise so I can concentrate.

...I just gave it a close listen, and I don't know the song that's currently playing.

...I thought most of the "American Idol" performances were okay last night, though Kellie Pickler looked like a poor man's Lita Ford (if there is such a concept). I *really* loved Elliott's "Somebody to Love" - that is a *hard* song to sing.

41. Have you ever spied on someone?

"Snowbunny has left the fabric merchant; I repeat, Snowbunny has left the fabric merchant." Who, me? Spy on someone? Perish the thought.

42. Have you ever slept with one of your coworkers?

No, though one of my professors in college "interviewed" me once. I did not get a job offer (thank God).

43. Have you ever seen your best friend naked?

Yup. I've seen other people naked, too. I've even painted them.

44. Who was the last person who called you?

Dr's Office. Sadly.

45. When was the last time you slept for more then 12 hours?

The last time I took a wee few too many meds (completely by accident, I hasten to add), which was about four years ago.

46. Have you ever been arrested?

Technically, no. I had a nasty abusive run-in with a complete asshole of a police officer in my teens (I had not done anything to deserve the treatment I received) that left me fearful of law enforcement for a very long time, though.

47. Most embarrassing CD you own?

I have a Gloria Estefan CD floating around somewhere, I think.

48. Have you ever stolen anything?

I was quite the little kleptomaniac when I was little - mostly food. I went through a stage in college where I "liberated" silverware from restaurants and put them into sculptures.

49. Have you ever had surgery?

When I was four, I had ear surgery to treat a series of agonizing ear infections (throwing up, high fever, the works. I still remember the intense pain).


And that's it for today.

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen