Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2006-04-13 - 9:52 a.m.

Eye in the Sky

I got some close-up pictures of some projects onto the site-which-I-am-pimping-way-too-much, so if you want to see crappy blurry pictures that will eventually be replaced by beautiful professional gorgeousness, go on over and take a look. I got a couple of decent ones out of it, and I'm fairly impressed at myself for getting anything useable out of the combination of my pathetic picture-taking skills and a cheap disposable camera.

Thank you, everyone, who took time to weigh in on the sunglasses survey. If you haven't yet, I'm still interested in what you think, so feel free to fill up my guestbook.

Again, like I said before, even, it's a personal choice. Regular eyeglasses don't bother me the same way, for some reason, though I think Aviators don't look terribly good on anyone - I prefer the round or oval style.

Does anyone remember those terrible frames from the '80s that they pushed on women? Giant frames in colours that were almost larger than one's entire face. For some reason, I always saw women wearing red ones. I suppose red is a power colour, and they thought they looked very professional and serious, yet slightly quirky, at the time.

Now, of course, those styles make me think of Molly Ringwald, bad hair, and the giant red purse I carried for a semester that I studiously matched to my slouched socks and stirrup pants.

Eeek.

In the interest of full disclosure, I must admit that I had a pair of reading glasses that were similarly huge - and I got them in the early '90s. I have since replaced them with the small frames I use only when sewing teeny tiny stitches, and I'm sure they'll look just as dated in twenty years time.

In fact, the only glasses style that seems to stick around is the wire framed round/oval ones. I have a pair from the late 1800s that are remarkably similar in shape to the ones Bob wears all the time.

In other news, if you're in the area and not doing anything, come to Night on the Town this weekend. There'll be lots of fighting, and Lost Cause will be giving a performance. Me, I'll be selling stuff out of the Gardiner's Store all day, including CDs, hair forks, hat feathers and rosettes, and... period glasses frames.

Heh.

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen