Angel of Death

I will nibble on your brains...

New Old Guestbook Web Site Profile

Keeping the dream alive for one more entry - 2008-05-20
it still lives... barely. - 2007-02-21
Moved - 2006-11-22
*beep* the AoD is no longer at this number, but will still be receiving messages for a bit... - 2006-11-08
Vote for the one you hate the least - 2006-11-07
Diaryland
Recommend Me
Read Others

2006-04-19 - 9:31 a.m.

Fitting

Ze jacket, she fits.

This is not always a given, with something of this complexity; the embroidery can alter the flexibility of the fabric, the adjustments made for cutting can throw things off, all sorts of things can happen, that you won't know about until everything is done.

In late 16th century London, there are accounts of complaints against tailors for making clothes that don't fit properly, so it's a long and grand tradition, but I'm glad I'm not part of it today, for obvious reasons.

It looks rather good - even though I haven't finished it yet (and I still have a tangerine silk skirt to hand-sew before I'll wear the ensemble), and I'm hoping it looks more impressive to other people than it does to me right now, since I'm so *over* looking at it.

I get the giggles when I get each piece finished and ready for construction, and I smirked at my reflection a bit when I tried the unfinished shell on yesterday, though, so I'm not completely in hate with it yet.

I am a bit bombed, however. I've been working on this thing for a year and a quarter, and I have a month's more work at *least* before it's done (I need to make more of the trim).

My timeline for completion is June University. The "Extreme Costuming" class.

Natch.

Dorsal - Ventral

Funnier than me: James Lileks

disclaimer!

all words copyright Laura Mellin 2000-2005


Diarist.net!

Designed by Gen